The Advisory Board of the Hungarian Chemical Society awards the first Hungarian Alajos Kálmán Prize in 2020 to Prof. Mátyás Czugler (Prof. emer., Research Centre for Natural Sciences).

The career of Prof. Mátyás Czugler is primarily joined to the Research Centre for Natural Sciences of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. He is a member of the first generation of the School on single-crystal X-ray diffraction established by Prof. Alajos Kálmán. Mátyás Czugler was the student, then close colleague and is the intellectual successor of Alajos Kálmán. Prof. Czugler introduced the supramolecular approach in chemical crystallography in Hungary, performing outstanding research on the field of host-guest systems and complexes. He participates in international collaborations and projects. His international recognition is reflected by the fact for example that he was appointed the co-editor of the journal Acta Crystallographica Section E: Crystallographic Communications for several years. He established extensive cooperation with Hungarian organic chemistry laboratories and with several Hungarian institutions performing pharmaceutical research. He is the author of 180 scientific publications, he has received 2,763 independent citations, his H-index is 29.

The Kálmán Alajos Prize for outstanding structural research is awarded in a three-year cycle: the Hungarian Prize is awarded in one year and the European Prize is awarded in the following two years.

More information about the prize and the laureates: